chasing the light…

Sometimes the light can be so brilliant yet so fleeting. Have you ever seen that magic bit of light hitting a tree or a hill off to the distance as you are driving somewhere and you just wish you were set up with your gear in that perfect position to photograph the moment ?  On this occasion I was heading out this particular road hoping a shard of light may strike this range before me. Sure as hell it did come off ! Perhaps a few minutes earlier than I may have wanted but sometimes these moments last only 30 seconds or a minute. It’s in tiny window of opportunity that you have got to make the most of it.

‘ Chasing the light  –  Chace range, SA’

~ by Tony Middleton on June 3, 2010.

22 Responses to “chasing the light…”

  1. spectacular Tony – i’ve a soft spot for ‘windows of opportunity’ type shots. this region of the country is a real favourite of mine. i hope you’ve some more gems…

    • hey Cain,
      It’s great to see you still reading here. I too love those moments and I got to experience a number of them on this trip. This is the upside to inclement weather, these opportunities can arise. This was my 3 rd trip to the region and I can’t wait to return soon.
      cheers,

  2. Nice shot and presentation Tony, wish I had time to head up there with you. All you need is a bit of magic light to keep you going sometimes…

    • hey Michael – yeah it was so close to hooking up, but not quite… next time mate 🙂

  3. It’s a cracker. I love that strip of light across the image Tony. Well done.

  4. Brilliant Tony, I know that feeling so well – magic light breaks through, sitting there in the car all senses fired up “must get out, must shoot, must shoot, will die if I don’t, it’s magic right now for just a brief minute!”.

    I love sitting and observing a landscape on a cloudy day and just watch the light and shadows play across the landscape.

    • hi Flem, The play of light can be fickle and sweet that is for sure ! Thanks for taking a moment from the 5 kabillion comments on your blog to check this out. 🙂

      • hhehe, I’m famous me I am hehehe. Love your work, look forward to us shooting the outback together! Seriously, might head down under again later this year

      • Yeah we should definitely hook up somewhere one day Bo ! 🙂

  5. Hi Tone, marvellous work here. The chasing the light title seems particularly apt as it looks like the chase range?

    • hey Ab,
      yeah it certainly is and I was tempted to title it with the Chace range’s correct spelling as ‘Chacing the light’ but thought no one would ‘get it’ and think it was a typo – lol
      cheers mate,

  6. Wicked shot Tone, Great title.

  7. Nice shot Tony, and I didnt even have to read where it was, as it has that Flinders look about it. Im putting in for Brisbane next year mate, so hopefully I will get some of those storms you get up that way.

    • hey Casey – yeah, though you just knew cos I told you I was going there… 😛
      Seriously though, you are correct and they do have a distinctive look to them. Goodluck with the transfer too buddy ! We’ll catch up somewhere..someday 🙂

  8. Nice one mate! All part of the fun and frustration of the chase. This usually happens to me just after I have packed the gear away and driven off!

    • hi Tim,
      haha – yeah I know… That guy ‘Murphy’ has a lot to answer for ! I would love a time machine and go back and sort him out !

      cheers, 🙂

  9. Lovely scene Tony, I really like that glimpse of light creeping through.

    • hi Tom,
      It was very fleeting so it was cool to see. I hope you are continuing to enjoy your time in NSW. 🙂

  10. Nice one Tony.

Leave a Reply

 
