variability…

Continuing on the theme of my previous post…This is another shot from Jan 2, 2009 on some of the walks I did I came across this scene…I waited and waited in freezing (literally) conditions as the wind, hail,snow,and fog roared up the valley…waiting hoping for a break in the wind to stop moving the trees yet there still be some fog in the scene…anyway after a cold half an hour I came away with this shot. I also shot this spot on my 6×17.
The funny thing is that this very area is under a thunderstorm this afternoon and the plains immediately below will be in the mid-high 30’s in 2 days time…. Victoria !

summer-snow2

‘Frozen trees’ – 5 image stitch, Canon EOS 5D mkII.

~ by Tony Middleton on January 10, 2009.

5 Responses to “variability…”

  1. I thought it was supposed to be summer down there? Cool shot. Looks like the weather around here lately…

  2. Good work, how does it look converted to B&W?

  3. You could have shot this in Copenhagen here last weekend, was sooo bloody freezing cold! This one doesn’t quite do it for me as much as the snow gums in snow does I must admit.

  4. Cody – cheers mate and yes it is meant to be summer…It looks like Victoria will see temperatures getting well into the 40’s (C) in a couple of days time.

    Michael – Yeah I did a B&W conversion though a little unexpectedly I prefer this version.

    Flem – You have gum trees in Copenhagen ? 😉 Though I think that I do know where you are coming from…this one is somewhat of a broader scene and perhaps has a little more impact when large. Of course I have a number more from within the ‘forests’. thanks as always ! 🙂

  5. great atmosphere Tony.
    and yeah we’re sending the heat across to you so it is on the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
