the Rock…

It’s the winter solstice today and for us in the south of the continent this means we are finally about to turn the corner and the days once again will begin to slowly lengthen. Whilst this time of the year encourages more computer/indoor work it’s not something that ever sits well with me…. hrmm… no wonder most years see me off somewhere !

So with these short days I’ve been spending a fair bit of my spare time working on processing images from the last month or so as well as a new website development which is proving to be a touch tedious at times, but due time will see it all through.

Here’s an image from… well… umm… not recent !

‘ the Rock  –  somewhere on the vicco coast’

~ by Tony Middleton on June 21, 2010.

16 Responses to “the Rock…”

  1. I always thought tomorrow ,the 22nd was the shortest day.

    • So did I but the media here has been all over it being today… maybe it just takes a day longer to reach the west this year…? 😛 🙂

  2. Great clouds Tone…it looks a bit like Steep Point…the western most tip of WA!

  3. I hope that it is today that is the shortest as I’ve had a couple of quiet beverages on a Monday night to celebrate…..beautiful shot by the way Tone. Good to see that you’ve got your arse into gear with the website. Takes an exorbitant amount of time and energy but at least you’ll have somewhere to showcase some of your extraordinary images. All the best with it mate. Like the logo btw.

    • haha – good on you I reckon Andrew – yay for longer days even though the weather is colder and wetter over next couple of months (generally).
      It certainly is time consuming and i have been putting a bit of time in pits and spats as I get time/motivation. Getting there though.
      Thanks and it’s great to read your feedback on the logo 🙂

      happy solstice *cheers*

  4. “Great Eye” (divisional & space).. – Perfectly framed!

    • thanks MissIvy – It’s fantastic reading your perspective and views on landscape images. 🙂

  5. It varies, which day the solstice is, 20 or 21st of June. Up here in Copenhagen we have the opposite of course, longest day of the year. Sun will set around 10pm tonight, dusk light will last past midnight.

    I love the colours and the line here created by the coast line and the nice clouds. The horizon is…funky 🙂 Perhaps crop a bit as well to get it off-center.

    • Happy solstice Flems ! Gotta love those long days – how are the temperatures going there now ?
      It is a real funky horizon with the distant curve of the coastline. I had to actually double check that the water horizon was spot on level….. *twilight zone music*
      🙂

      • Thanks, you too Tone!
        Temperatures sucks here… about 20c degrees. This is supposed to be Summer but the coldest I have been for 6 months hehe, well I have been very very fortunate! So this is alright for me, it’s better than Winter here which I shall never see again. Take off again later this year!

  6. Great shot Tone, very nice colour.
    The days are getting longer, YAY.

    • cheers Tom – how much longer are you in NSW for or have you decided to become a full time resident ?

      tone 🙂

  7. Flem – yeah my sister was over there just a few weeks ago and said it had been cold – happy traveling mate 🙂

  8. […] by a post by Tony Middleton, I wanted to shoot a panorama of Copenhagen on Summer solstice, longest day of the year. But with […]

  9. This is a stunner Tony. Days have just started to get shorter here. They’re a little too long at the moment

Leave a comment