Urana supercell…

With some pretty amazing instability prognosed for northern Victoria and southern NSW last week, I took the opportunity to head off for a couple of days. I was fortunate to experience a couple of spectacular twilights for entree before the main course which was a delicious beast of a supercell.

Waiting patiently in the heat for hours whilst a things began to fire across SW Vic and east NSW, I copped a few SMS’s from people about what I would be missing. Holding firm Β under the sun and flat cumulus fields above, watching radar updates of the said development was almost wearing tediously thin by 4pm !

Sticking to my guns paid off though and the sky broke a mere 50km NW of me in my target area, and I headed off for my own bit of action. A very nice supercell rapidly got organised and ploughed its way across the NSW Riverina plains for the next 3hrs with myself at times desperately trying to stay in position in front of it.

It turned out to be an awesome chase with some truly epic scenes and experiences before a 5hr drive home and and up for work 3.5hrs later.

You’ve gotta be in it to win it ! Β Well…. to have more opportunities to experience it anyway !

~ by Tony Middleton on November 14, 2011.

34 Responses to “Urana supercell…”

  1. Well worth the chase Tony, Good stuff.

  2. Brilliant! Well worth the wait and drive. I clicked on it to enlarge it and was “wowed.”

  3. Stinker mate…mongrel!:)

  4. Wow mate.
    What the bloody hell were you doing in Urana? Its a ghost town. Pretty pub there.

  5. awesome work there Stormboy

  6. Amazing work Tony! Well worth the effort.

  7. amazing

  8. Fantastic capture Tony. Really intense.

  9. Your determination and endeavour in driving so far was certainly rewarded with this incredible piece Tones.
    The light on the ground compliments the darkness of the storm and I love how the powerlines gradually fade into the horizon, it adds to the depth and context of the scene.
    Awsome image of our great country

    • hey Mat,
      Thanks for your typically insightful comment mate. Sorry I never replied to your text this particular day… as you can now see I was far far away and very occupied ! This chase covered some 200+km’s across NSW over a couple of hours and required some SERIOUS driving !

      cheers,
      Tone πŸ™‚

  10. Well worth sticking to your guns Tony, another great image!

  11. Awesome, Tony. You proved you could “take the heat” and were rewarded with a spectacular shot. You did all the work so that we could enjoy the power and beauty of this photo.

    John

  12. Epic storm Tony! Good work holding strong too πŸ™‚ Awesome shot!!!
    Only thing i might suggest is cloning out the dark shrub on the bottom left? find myself distracted by it? And maybe the dark bit of cloud on the very right below..might be tricky with the powerlines though…
    Sounds like your in for some more weather! Have fun mate !!

    • I see what you mean mate…too tricky, plus I like to keep my weather images in particular as natural and documentive as possible πŸ™‚
      cheers,
      Tone

  13. Awesome image! Your perseverance definitely paid dividends πŸ™‚

  14. More than worth! Spectacular face of nature! Amazing shot!

  15. Hey Tony I saw this posted on FBk but seeing it on the blog larger is awesome. Seriously an awesome capture. Send it to BOM !

    • Thanks Adrian – I’m glad you stopped by here to check it out and leave a comment…Should see the full res πŸ™‚
      cheers,

  16. wow

  17. my comments not even worthy here man…. but brilliant shot once again πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Stephen – I know you like and appreciate this type of stuff in particular πŸ™‚
      cheers,

Leave a Reply

 
