Wallaces Hut…

I’ve been very busy shooting a lot this year trying to rebuild my portfolios after last years burglary. This has lead to me have rather large backlogs of work to sort and process through. Here’s one from quite a while ago of some lovely soft afternoon light filtering through the snow gums and onto Wallaces Hut.

‘ Wallaces Hut bathed in afternoon light ‘

~ by Tony Middleton on June 26, 2011.

20 Responses to “Wallaces Hut…”

  1. I like that picture a lot. I’m so sorry you got robbed!

  2. Wow that is great! Would love to see that blown up large, so much detail!

  3. Nice different comp there mate, always a challenge to find something a bit different.

    • Cheers AB – I shot from this location last year as well, that time I got a sweet vertical pano (as well as some from the front). Anyway I’m pretty happy with how this one came out as well πŸ™‚
      cheers,

  4. I agree with Ryan, the detail is everywhere. I like the light on the trees in the foreground and the contrast between the snow and the textures of trunks, branches and leaves of the trees throughout the scene. The little bit of snow on the roof of the hut looks so pure against the rusted corragated iron.

    • hi Mat,
      i always enjoy reading your insights into my images, I especially like your point about the snow on the roof in regards to this one.
      cheers,
      tone πŸ™‚

  5. it’s almost got a sort of isolated & lonely feel
    it matchs in with your words; i imagine after the robbery you felt very lost
    glad to see you are back on your feet πŸ™‚

    • hi Chloe,
      Yeah I think the slightly elevated perspective gives it that feel… that night in bed it was certainly one of the emotions (other than extremely pissed off ! )

      thanks as always,
      tone πŸ™‚

  6. Nice shot Tony, great light!

    • Hi Tim,
      It took some patience…but the end result was quite worth it I think.
      cheers,
      tone πŸ™‚

  7. Love the soft light in this shot, and the way the trees frame the shed – the composition is great!

    • Thanks Kieran,
      This old hut was orginally built in 1889 from slaps of snow gums. Mountain cattleman built huts like this for shelter from the blizzards that can occur at anytime of the year whilst grazing their stock on the highplains on the Victorian alps.

      cheers,

  8. Nice Tony πŸ™‚

  9. I like the angle of this one Tony, and the soft light is very nice.

  10. Stunning shot Tony, just love it.

Leave a Reply

 
