engulfing gustfront….

Here’s a stitch I have put together that I managed to shoot using my mates 450D. This was shot about 5minutes after the iPhone stitch that I posted a couple of months back. This storm had a classic gustfront on it as it marched into Bass Strait. I’d also like to post the link to the little timelapse video of it that I shot but I can’t seem to get this to inset the vimeo link thingy for it….

I’m getting pretty hungry for some more storms or at least some decent light again !

‘Engulfing gustfront’

 

 

~ by Tony Middleton on January 19, 2011.

10 Responses to “engulfing gustfront….”

  1. Cooker mate!

    Waycool!

  2. Nice one Mate, who needs a 5d Mk2:o)

    • haha – might as well stick with the iPhone I reckon… wait til you see the HD timelapse šŸ˜‰

  3. you always seem to get these wicked storms lol, I know you probably make it look like you get them more often then you actually do- hit to miss ratio, but you sure seem to get them. looking forward to the storms starting up this way- had a few, but nothing too organised. they are just all messy at the moment, not that I can get into a decent possi to get the decent one’s haha. good fun trying though!! šŸ™‚

    but great shot here man. i love weather, clouds, storms etc, not quite as nuts as you, and definitely not as knowledgeable haha, but I make sure I enjoy it all the same šŸ™‚ always love your images of such situations. gets my juices flowing that’s for sure

    • Thanks Stephen šŸ™‚
      We actually don’t get many storms down this way. I just try to maximise my opportunities, and if possible chase and target other regions that will on a particular day.Fortunately this one went right by my house – which was a bonus given motivation was lacking with no camera gear and having just been robbed etc !
      I imagine you should be in for some spectacular lightning shows up there, you gotta be in it, to win it ! Or to at least experience it – which is the main thing !
      all the best and goodluck !

  4. Had one like this pass over me today on the way back from Dingo Beach. No time to stop the car and set up, looked awesome & pissed down!

    • hey Tim, That sounds wicked mate, you would get some nice gustfront features around there given the amount of moisture at the surface. It can get pretty hectic trying to get storm shots sometimes ! next time šŸ™‚

  5. WOW talk about blow my mind!
    it looks as if the clouds are trying to grab at the water in a very angry way
    amazing, i bet the noise was impressive
    & extra points for the wonderful stitching, it’s so good you cant even begin to guess where the photos join

    • hi Chloe – It almost looks like some massive vacuum cleaner wanting to suck up the ocean and everything in its path !
      cheers,
      tone šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
