2 of 6…

Here is another of the 6images that I have retrieved back from ProLab. This one was taken in central west NSW earlier this year. After an epic drive from SEQ that morning the storms I was hoping to catch on my return developed in to one of those awesome looking 500km long Nth-Sth squall line in outback NSW. Unfortunately though it died in no mans land some 50+km to my west ! So I was desperate to salvage something from it all and spotted a gap in the decaying line further south that I thought some light might sneak through. Sneak through it certainly did – the next hurdle was finding something to compose in the image. Tree lined roads and vacant fields wasn’t really what I was looking for. After a couple of dashes up some rather muddy dirt roads and a bare foot slip and slide across a paddock I came up with this – I’m quite happy with it myself Β πŸ™‚

‘ Tomingly rainbow – NSW ‘

 

~ by Tony Middleton on December 12, 2010.

7 Responses to “2 of 6…”

  1. That is a great capture Tony, gotta be pleased with that! A bit centered with that tree but gettting the rainbox, tree and pool lined I can see how this was unavoidable.

  2. hey Flem – yep totally unavoidable unless you can move rainbows,trees or dams ! But I think I managed to offset it somewhat compositionally with the water/dam shape.
    It was a freakin’ cracker of a display ! after a 1000km’s in the day I wanted something

    cheers,
    t πŸ™‚

  3. Good reason to be happy with this one Tony. Great to hear you were rewarded after a long drive. Would have been pretty wicked driving along the front though when it was still nicely formed.

    It’s funny- you think of driving Qld to Vic in one day- and it seems like such a long way, and you’d be crazy to do it. But I guess it’s pretty much the same as here to Perth…. just not crossing through different states haha.

    • hey Stephen – yeah the squall line was just that bit too far away to see any notably interesting details before it weakened etc.

      I have managed Qld to home in a day a few times, on this occasion I pushed on about another 400k after this image and stayed on the Murray river/Vic-NSW border. But…Yeah WA is huge at ~1/3 of the country ! ! though Melb to Bris is still 1600km and Bris is only half way to Cairns and ‘the Tip’ is another 1000k from there… Aust is just awesome IMO

      • Totally agree with you on that! πŸ˜€ I could not ever leave the country and really not be disappointed. NZ, trecking in the Himalaya’s and possibly Canada/Alaska are some i’d like to do though mind you. The rest…. well i’ll see happily if i’m able to. But not too fussed haha.

        Yeah that’s a fair distance then, bit more then here to Perth haha. Is that along the coast or this inland way you went on this trip? And i’m spun out that Cape York is that far North again, really didn’t think it was hey.
        What car do you have? My cruiser doesn’t like doing above 105 without chewing the fuel big time, I can push it higher without the A/C on but the cabin gets to 50+deg pretty easy at speed so the A/C is a must every so often lol. Problem with that is a 1000km day obviously then takes 10-11hrs. Not that it’s a foreign thing for me- pretty used to it now. Crank the tunes and sing my lil heart out πŸ˜›

  4. Nice Tony, Doesn’t replace all the images you have lost but it’s a start!
    Hope thing are slowly getting back to some type of normalcy1

    • hi Tim – very true mate…. had a few health issues lately so hence my lack of blog time/energy. But hope to get beck to it soon πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
