Outback frost…

This was one pretty cold pre dawn shoot in NSW’s far western outback. With not a breath of wind or cloud about it had been a sheer pleasure to capture places like this. I feel these places are rarely photographed in such a manner, yet in my opinion have a unique beauty of their own. Some one like Flemming may also find this type of scene or shot appealing…

Very little PS work on this baby…no masks, no vignettes etc etc – just those gorgeous velvia 50 tones rated at 32.

‘ Outback frost – NSW, Velvia 50’

~ by Tony Middleton on June 29, 2010.

14 Responses to “Outback frost…”

  1. I know that cold outback feeling well. Although I’ve rarely seen frost on the ground I’ve woken up to everything left out on a table frozen solid.

    This shot portrays that very well.

    • hey swervin, You certainly would I’d imagine. This one produced a frost as there was remnant moisture about after the pre frontal trough and rainbands the preceeding days then the arrival of the colder air over night (if that makes sense?) the ground was all crusty that morning – i think it portrays this in the image…

      cheers and I fixed your typo etc too mate 🙂

  2. Appealing, yes indeed, love it mate! Has a great surreal otherworldly quality to it. I love the outback, and it’s even better when it can be presented to look like Mars, the moon etc. Love the morning myst, lends a mysterious quality to it.

    Those Velvia purples are very strong here, for my personal taste I might warm it a tad, just a bit. Also an almost square crop could work here. But it’s also brilliant as is!

    • Ahh yes I knew you’d connect with this one Flembob, but it’s great to read your thoughts about it to confirm all !
      I see what you are getting at and I will admit this is a fairly old shot/scan from when I had zero PS knowledge and I’ve done nothing to it other than logo addition etc before uploading. yeah lazy ! 🙂
      thanks for the great logo feedback too mate – also much appreciated !

  3. Great colours there Tone!

    Very nice!

    • cheers Markie-mark ! One of lots of oldies been dug up this arvo…
      cheers,
      tone 🙂

  4. New logo looks great too!

  5. I don’t think this image could look anymore cold than what it does!
    I like it very much also. I hear it was pretty chilly in that region recently!!

    • heya Stephen, i’m glad it looks cold cos it was. lol
      I’m not up to speed on this particular areas recent obs.. Last night well, well east of there, in NSW Northern tablelands got pretty cold and will do again tonight… I think Glenn Innes got a -10C…

      One thing for sure is i can tell you it’s been freakin cold here ! (all things relative of course)

      cheers,

  6. Thumbs up from me Tone, like the tones in this image and the feeling that it conveys. The clean crisp morning air of the outback

  7. Great shot Tony, but I really don’t need to be reminded of what I will be heading back into in a couple of weeks thanks. haha.

    • Reality sucks doesn’t it ! It’s always good to get back to your own bed and start planning the next trip though… 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
