alpine ash forest…

 Another shot from up in the mountains, this time from within a majestic Alpine ash forest shrouded in mist and sleet at about 1400m ASL. If I were to begin to rant about how long it took me to get this one due to blowing rain and sleet – we’d all get bored…but I was determined as the scene just took my breath away and I’d be peeved off and wanting to return unless I came away with what I liked.

mountain forest II

‘Alpine ash forest’ 

~ by Tony Middleton on June 14, 2009.

14 Responses to “alpine ash forest…”

  1. Absolutely beautiful Tony, your perseverance paid off here and your exposure is spot on with this one. You take the award for hardcore mate, I would struggle to get myself out there. Well done!

    • Cheers Michael ! I figure if I am staying south for winter (recent years I have moved north/tropics)Then I have gotta get myself out there a bit to once again appreciate these environs in their element. 🙂

  2. Very mystical mist here, looks awesome! Must have been braving some cold elements to get this one!

    • hi Flem, yeah it has something special about it ! It was relatively comfortable compared to spending time and nights at 1700-1750m the previous days – eeeep ! gawd I’d love some heat though !

  3. Gee that’s a nice shot and I bet there are a lot of other compositions you could get around there or even from that same spot as well.

    I like the green framing, really sets it off.

  4. Oh yeah , gotta ask, stitched or single.

  5. Really well balanced Tony. Beautiful shot. I particularly like the right half of the frame.

    • Thanks Luke – yeah it was almost hard to decide what to shoot so I shot it all ! 🙂

  6. Hi Tony,

    Its a great shot. I’m glad you didn’t have to go back up again to try and recapture it. 🙂

    Jamie Paterson

  7. Hi Jamie,
    Cheers…it was one of those times where you know you just have to nail it as the conditions wouldn’t be the same if you went back again anyway. 🙂

  8. beautiful Tony.
    great composition!
    i just love the subtle but definite curve coming across it in the green land meeting the fog.

    • Thansk Stephen – it’s one of my favourites from the w/e as well. When I saw the location it captured my heart and I just wanted to take it with me…I had to settle for this image. 🙂

  9. I really like this shot mate!
    Good on ya for waitin it out!

Leave a Reply

 
