the things we do…

Ok…I’ll have to get back downstairs and organise some more recent images soon.

This one is another example of how planning helped me become lost within the light and location.
I had sampled this composition and bearings the day before and returned the following morning – in -1C temperatures…damn it was so cold ! I climbed and scaled my way up the scree slope with a torch. Am I completely mad ? some may think – what sort of nut camps out in the desert to scale mountains in the dark in ice cold winds ? But…it was not too long (thankfully) before the magic of light started to hit the scene. As this transformation began and my planning appeared to be spot on, there was not much else to do (other than some shivering) than lose myself in the experience of what was transcending below and before me. I took 2 frames from this location as the ridgelines and ghost gums glowed. Ahhh…. ๐Ÿ™‚

honeymoon-i

West Macdonnell rangesย – Fuji G617, Velvia 50.

~ by Tony Middleton on November 10, 2008.

12 Responses to “the things we do…”

  1. I think the soft pastel color of the sky helps tell the story of the cold dawn while the warm color of the rock tricks one into believing it was a hot summer morning.

  2. That’s why I love your work and your posts Tony, you’re as much in love with and as obsessed with the outback as I am ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love the view you’ve captured here and I can just imagine how the original 6×17 slide must really glow with dawn light. In this scan though, the foreground is quite dark and I would be awfully tempted to give it a bit of shadows/highlight filter in PS and brighten it just a bit to make sure it doesnt’ get even darker when printed.

  3. cheers Flemming,
    I just had a quick play in CS3 shadow/highlights then…What does the ‘radius’ bar actually do ? It seems hard to lighten it without losing the contrast though…also I noticed that I had not saved it as sRGB so when I uploaded it, it lost some saturation etc…I look fwd to your tips when I get home from work tonight….

    thanks Cody ! it was cold but not as cold as the places you visit! haha

  4. Actually I think I commented when I was at my IT consultancy job (don’t tell them I spend my time commenting on photos hehe!) and here at home it doesn’t really look that dark.

    Still, a bit of shadow recovery works good on this. On a separate layer using shadows/highligths tool and something like: amount: 3% tonal width: 50% and radius: 30px (set highlights amount to 0%) and then lower the opacity of this layer until you like the look of it. And yeah always convert to sRGB before uploading!

  5. put in the effort and you’ll usually get rewarded! it’s not got anything to do with being mad at all. really like those ghost gums scattered through the image. they really look they’re best against the red dust like this, not much comes close to their beauty! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I only know of one nut, that would do this, lol! But so worth it – there’s no other way you can get an image like this.

  7. Hey Tony,

    Not sure if you’ve tried, but in addition to ‘shadow/highlight,’ you can also try opening the photo from Bridge into Camera Raw (cmd + r on a mac, prob. ctrl + r on PC) and then mess around with the ‘fill light’ setting, which will bring up the shadows. for a little more control you can also go to the ‘HSL’ menu (it’s the icon with the little squiggly lines) and select ‘luminance’ and adjust each color individually…

  8. Hi Flemming – you are a norty boy ! but if it’s for a godd cause who cares ! Feel free to do a rework of it if you like and email me the result if you get bored (or are on another cinsultancy job that bores you…) – cheers for the tips, I might have to learn ‘layers’ someday when I get time/energy to spare. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Stephen and Cain – So very true and I love every step of it…if it was easy then you would have hoards of ‘digitellos’ there snapping away spoiling the moment and experience. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Cody – thanks for the tips mate – your advice is always valued !

  11. Nice shot mate , as stephen said love those ghost gums
    I like the pastal colors as well

  12. The ghost gums were a strong aspect of me choosing this composition – thanks Kirk !

Leave a Reply

 
