Gippsland green…

 I didn’t have to venture too far at all to take these ones…but I guess this scene is a bit like photographing trees or rocks – it’s hard to find the right one in the right light !  In this case it’s farmland hills (Strzelecki ranges foothills). I couldn’t really decide which composition I liked better so I’m going to post both.

So without any further to do and not far from my ‘doorstep’ here’s what I came up with and part of the country I am fortunate enough to have beyond my front door.  (And yes I would much prefer it if this was still rainforest like it once was ! ! ! ).

Gippsland green I – Fuji G617, Velvia 50.

Gippsland green II – Fuji G617, Velvia 50.

~ by Tony Middleton on October 4, 2008.

7 Responses to “Gippsland green…”

  1. Ton these are really nice photos, the horizontal I like the best and the placement of the fence posts are perfect. Also how magnificent and green are the hills, a cows dream I’m sure.

  2. I reckon the horizontal version is the best composition. Some nice velvia greens 😀 Very lovely landscape you’re lucky to have this on your doorstep mate!

  3. Casey and Flemming, I’m still divided with which I prefer so your thoughts are greatly appreciated ! I’ve just been out shooting a couple more along this theme in the late afternoon light. So hopefully I got something nice.
    Sometime soon I’ll post something from ‘my backyard’ which I just adore !

  4. Nice and green Tony, It looks fairly green down there, was this recently? Must be the south side of the Strzelecki as when I went through Trafalgar and Warragul last week, fairly dry on the north side.

    There are some wonderful rolling hills through that country that I’d love to photograph at some stage.

    The pastures there are doing much better than the Bega Valley.

  5. Hi Tom,
    I took these only a couple of weeks ago in Sth Gippsland which essentially includes the Strzelecki’s and is bounded by them. The lush appearance is very typical of the area outside the summer/early autumn months but belies how poor a year it is rainfall wise again. Some 150 odd mm below average to date…so much so that now (normal the wettest time of the year) sees local wetland areas still dry !

    cheers,
    tone

  6. great photos!

  7. cheers fikalo !

Leave a Reply

 
